Recognizing outstanding service

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Jonathan Hehnly
  • 911th Airlift Wing Public Affairs

In celebration of the men and women of the 911th Airlift Wing’s accomplishments and achievements during the year of 2015, the wing held its annual awards banquet at the Club at Shadow Lakes, Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, May 15, 2016.

The evening’s dinner and award ceremony brought together airmen, civilian employees, family members, community partners and other distinguished guests in fellowship and celebration.  Col. Jeffrey A. Van Dootingh, 911th Airlift Wing commander, kicked off the event and evening esprit de corps by cheering “Air” with a thunderous response by the attendees of “Power.”

“Air power; without it you lose,” said Van Dootingh. “We are here to celebrate what puts the power in air power and it’s our airmen. All the airmen in this wing have done incredible things, but some airmen have separated themselves from their peers and tonight we recognize the best and brightest that the Air Force has to offer.”

Before leaving the stage, the commander laid down three simple ground rules for the evening:  have fun, cheer and promote morale, and to not forget about rules 1 and 2.

The guest speaker for the evening was Maj. Gen. Stayce D. Harris, commander 22nd Air Force, Air Force Reserve Command. She spoke fondly of the 911th Airlift Wing, portraying the men and women as steel airmen with hearts of gold. Harris thanked “Team Pittsburgh” for their attendance and support for the community partnership that includes the local Navy Reserves, Army units, family members and surrounding community of veterans.

The general’s speech was followed by the awards portion of the evening. Airmen and civilian employees alike were recognized for their hard work and dedication to the wing, the Air Force, and the nation. The coveted civilian and military member of the year award winners are as follows:

The GS-08 and below and wage grade of the year- Officer Travis Clark, 911th Security Forces Squadron

The GS-09 and above and wage supervisor of the year- Mr. Robert Moeslein, 911th Civil Engineer Squadron

The 911th Airlift Wing first sergeant of the year- Senior Master Sgt. Michael Harper, 911th Maintenance Squadron

The 911th Airlift Wing field grade officer of the year- Lt. Col. Suzanne Maslo, 911th Aeromedical Staging Squadron.

The 911th Airlift Wing company grade officer of the year- 1st Lt.   Sarah May, 911 the Aeromedical Evacuation Squadron.

The 911th Airlift Wing senior non-commissioned officer of the year- Master Sgt. Jacob Kelecava, 911th Security Forces Squadron

The 911th Airlift Wing non-commissioned officer of the year- Tech. Sgt. Judson Heckerman, 911th Security Forces Squadron

The 911th Airlift Wing Airman of the year- Staff Sgt. Logan Uber, 911th Operations Support Squadron.